HCC Board of Trustees elects officers for 2024

Jan 25, 2024

At its regular meeting on Jan. 24, the Houston Community College (HCC) Board of Trustees chose new officers for 2024.

Cynthia Lenton-Gary, Ph.D., was elected for her third term as Board Chair. Dr. Lenton-Gary represents HCC District VII.

Newly elected Trustee Laolu Davies-Yemitan of District IV will serve as Board Vice Chair, and Trustee Dave Wilson of District VI will serve as secretary.

In the same meeting, trustees chose Margaret Ford Fisher, Ed.D., as the college’s ninth chancellor. Dr. Ford Fisher had served as Interim Chancellor since Sept. 1, 2023.

The trustees serve as the governing body of the college system. It has nine members who are elected from single-member districts. Board members hold staggered six-year terms and serve without remuneration. The board has final authority to determine and interpret HCC policies.

To learn more, visit https://www.hccs.edu/about-hcc/board-of-trustees.

« Previous Article | Next Article »